Access Rights and Board Ownership
Set up by: any board editor; board ownership is reassigned by the current board owner
When you invite collaborators to your boards you define what they can do on a board - edit, comment or view it.
Board owner rights
There can be only one board owner. Unlike any other board user, the board owner can move the board between accounts, download board backups and delete the board.
Editors get full access to all the tools on the board. They can make changes to the content, delete or upload new files, edit access rights of other members and add new collaborators (if you add someone as a non-team collaborator they can edit the board, but not Share it).
Commenters can view the board and leave comments on it. They also have access to the chat and Screen Sharing features (note that viewers only see the Screen Sharing icon during an ongoing livestream). Commenters are not able to invite others or edit the board.
Viewers can't make any changes to the board, they can only see its contents. Their toolbox only displays the zoom and map options, while the toolbar is hidden. If you have added Frames to the board, viewers can see the options to switch between them as well.
Viewer's mode, toolbar is not available
Setting up the Access Rights
Whenever you share a board in the Share menu, you can instantly specify access rights by choosing either Can edit, Can comment or Can view before clicking Send:
Setting up access rights
For more details on assigning rights when sharing please see here.
Board sharing can be restricted by Company Administrators for security reasons.
Changing the Access Rights and Transferring the Ownership
To edit access rights of existing collaborators on the board:
- Click on the Share button in the top-right corner,
- Choose Advanced (the option is only shown when the board is shared) You will see the list of people who have access to the board.
- Specify access rights for a chosen user by clicking on the drop-down lists which state their current access rights. The board owner will also see the option to make another user the owner of the board (thus signing away the ownership)
- Confirm the change by clicking Done.
The owner of the board is changing the access rights for existing collaborators
As shown above, you can also remove collaborators or leave the board yourself.
Transferring board ownership to another board collaborator
When you confirm ownership transfer, you will not be able to undo this action.
The warning message when transferring the ownership of the board
Board Access Request
If you follow the board link and see this message, it means that the board is not shared with you yet:
An option to ask for board access
To view, comment or edit board, click Request access. This will send an email message to every editor on the board. They will be able to provide you with the access and define your access rights.