As an administrator, you can remove extra users anytime and decrease the size of your team, thus saving on your subscription on the next purchases.
team size is the number of paid seats in your subscription
by removing a member you vacate a seat
extra vacant seats need to be removed additionally
To remove a teammate choose the Members section in the Team account settings, click the button and then Remove from Team.
In this menu, you can also make a teammate another administrator of your Team
If the user is the owner of some boards/templates created in the team space (their personal boards are not affected) you will be given a choice whether to accept the ownership or delete them:
Changing board ownership, while removing a user
The chosen user will lose all access to your team projects right away (without being notified). Please note they will retain access in the view-only mode to the team boards that were shared with a public link - if the user saved the links to these specific boards.
Administrators are able to remove each other or leave the team at their own accord, transferring the ownership of their boards/templates to another administrator. The last/single administrator must grant administrative rights to another user before being able to leave the team.
After removal of a teammate, you will not be immediately refunded for the time remaining in your current subscription period. Instead, there will be a vacant seat in your team.
Decreasing the number of paid seats
If you do not intend to invite new users to take the vacant seats that you created by removing members, you may decrease the size of your team.
This can be done in the Settings section of your team account. To change the size of the team account please click Plan limits, set a new size and confirm. You will see a message saying that your account size is now changed and your next purchase will be prorated for the new number of seats.
Decreasing the number of paid seats and changing the cost of your subscription